Frequently Asked Questions
Jump to: Insurance Requirements & Windshield Protection | Payment Options & Information | Reservations, Rates & Cancellations | Pick up, Drop-off, and Shuttle Service | Our Vehicles & Amenities | About Us | Road Restrictions
Midnight Sun does not offer insurance coverage. This means that ALL customers must provide proof of their own full coverage insurance upon pick up of the rental vehicle. The only form of proof required will be the policy number and current expiration. Full coverage insurance must include Comp and Collision.
Alaska State law requires insurance information be carried by drivers at all times.
Rental & Age Requirements
- Renters need to have their own full coverage automobile insurance policy, which covers rental vehicles.
- Minimum rental age is 21 years old.
- All drivers must have a valid U.S, International Driver’s License, or a valid license from their home country.
- The primary driver and credit card holder must be the same person.
How realistic is it that a rock will hit my windshield?
Harsh Alaskan winters mean we have to gravel our roads so they are safer during freezing weather. In the summertime, these rocks tend to be kicked up by other vehicles.
We offer chip windshield protection (CWP) at a rate of $3.00 per day. This coverage protects you from repairing or replacing windshields. This insurance comes highly recommended as the summers in Alaska have a great deal of road construction taking place all over the state in addition to the large amount of gravel that is placed on the roads in the winter.
If you decline the chip windshield protection we charge $40.00 per chip (if fixable), and $300.00 to replace the windshield if the damage is beyond repair.
Do I have to have a credit card to rent from your company?
We accept debit cards under the following circumstances:
a. You provide proof you have a full-coverage automobile policy, including policy number and expiration date, and
b. Have a round trip airline ticket, and
c. Debit card is able to authorize $200 over the rental bill
Debit Card Users
We do accept all debit and credit cards but please be aware, all debit cards will have an authorization hold of $300 placed on the card until the return of the vehicle. This authorization hold will act as the first part of payment if vehicle is extended beyond its original return date, if the vehicle is returned without a full tank of gas, or if the vehicle is returned with bodily damage. Once the rental is returned, Midnight Sun will release the hold on the debit card, but, please note, this release can take anywhere between 24-72 business hours to return back to your account. Midnight Sun has no control over when you would be able to see your authorization hold back in your account. Once we release the hold, it is up to your bank to make the funds available.
How much is the deposit?
We require a $25 deposit for all our cars, trucks, and SUVs; $100 deposit for our 7, 8, 12, and 15 passenger vans.
What credit cards do you accept?
We honor Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover credit cards.
Reservations, Rates & Cancellations
Do I have to make a reservation?
Advance reservations are strongly suggested, especially in the summer months (June-August). Vehicles may be reserved by category only and Midnight Sun Car & Van Rental has the right to substitute a similar or larger vehicle at no additional charge if the reserved vehicle category is not available at the time of check out.
Are there any additional fees?
Rates do not include any airport-imposed fees, LDW (loss Damage Waivers), infant seats, or additional driver charges. We allow one additional driver for free, and the cost is $5.00 per day, per driver, for any additional drivers.
All rentals come with 150 free miles per day, additional miles will be charged at $.20 per mile. If the rental vehicle is kept 3 days or more, you’ll receive unlimited mileage.
Upon arrival, taxis are lined up outside of baggage claim for your convenience. The average cost including a tip is $10.00. By taking a taxi to our location you will avoid an additional airport concession tax of 14%.
What is your cancellation policy?
Deposits are refundable with 30 days cancellation notice prior to your reservation date.
Pick up, Drop-off, and Shuttle Service
Do you have a shuttle service from Ted Steven’s International Airport to your rental facility?
If our shuttle picks you up from the airport, we have to pass along an additional airport concession tax of 14%. To save money and avoid that tax, we recommend taking a taxi to our business, the cost to do so is about $10.00 including a tip. Usually the driver of the group will take a taxi to our business while the rest of their party is getting the luggage. We are about 1.5 miles away from the airport and we will do our best to have you in the rental vehicle in about 10 minutes or less.
Do you have another location besides Anchorage?
No, Anchorage is our only location.
Do you offer drop-off service?
Yes, we offer drop-off service to Seward and Whittier. The drop-off fee for Seward is $350.00 and the drop off fee to Whittier is $250.00.
Will I lose my car rental if my flight is delayed?
It is essential that we are given the correct flight number and arrival time. If this is not available at the time of booking, make sure you inform us at least 3 days prior to arrival. This will help ensure your reservation is not cancelled due to flight delays. You will not lose your reservation, but we ask that you call and let us know the new arrival time of your flight.
Can you drop the car off at my hotel?
We require our customers to come to our office to fill out the contract before operating our vehicles.
Do we offer any sort of shuttle service?
Although we do not normally pick up at the airport, we can drop our customers off at the airport. We just use the same vehicle you rented from us. We also offer a complimentary shuttle service to and from any local hotel.
About Our Vehicles & Amenities/Add-Ons
Are your vehicles new?
Our vehicles are not new. The average age of our fleet is three to five-years-old. A majority of our vehicles are used primarily in the summertime and are in storage for the remainder of the year.
What happens if the rental vehicle has mechanical issues?
We have several solutions to any vehicle problems that may occur. If it is a minor issue, we will get the vehicle into a shop in the area you are located and have the problem fixed. If it is a major problem, we will have a rental vehicle towed or brought to you.
Do we offer car seats?
We offer complimentary backless booster seats and forward-facing child car seats.
Do the cars have a GPS system?
Our cars do not have GPS systems, but we offer GPS devices for $10/day.
Do any of the vans have luggage racks?
Unfortunately, none of our vans have luggage racks.
Can I request a specific vehicle?
We rent our vehicles on a rotating schedule therefore we can’t guarantee you will get a specific vehicle. We will do our best to get the vehicle you requested but we can’t guarantee it will be available for your reservation.
How many drivers are allowed in one vehicle?
We allow each vehicle two drivers for free, any added drivers will be a flat fee of $10.
Is a special drivers license needed to operate the 8-passenger, 12-passenger or 15-passenger vans?
No, a standard class “d” drivers license is all that is required to drive the larger vans. You do not need a commercial drivers license.
How long has your company been in business?
We’ve been in the car rental business since 1998.
Do we offer a military discount?
During our summer months (June-August) we do not offer any discounts. However, we do offer a 10% military discount during our off-season (September-May).
Recommendations: As when driving your own car, we recommend using common sense when driving on Alaska roads. Most roads are well maintained and in excellent condition. If you feel a road might damage a vehicle, it probably will. All off-road driving is prohibited.
The following roads are prohibited from use:
- North from Fairbanks-Dalton Hwy.
- North from Dawson City-Dempster Hwy.
- East from Carmack-Campbell Hwy.
- North from Livengood-Elliott Hwy.
- Off Limits-Elliot Hwy to Deadhorse.
If you have any questions, please leave a comment on your reservation request.